Current Song Obsession: Sia’s “Elastic Heart”

Sia’s words shake me, resonating personal truth. I’d love to post a video of her piece, but I can’t seem to get my wordpress video to upload one. Words are way more important to me, so I’m thankful for the lyrics being on the Internet — age is a signifier here, lol…anyone who sat next to their tape recorder rewinding pausing rewinding to figure out the words can relate. However, I’ve noticed recently that a few modern pieces suggest a different direction to me before I look up the words. Often the lyrics lose meaning when I can see them and note my perspective was way off.

Sia’s song makes more sense now that I’ve seen the lyrics. Upon reading the words I achieved my ah-ha! moment. Many thanks to Sia for her creative genius and modern approach to the theatrics of music. Also kudos for the inclusion of interpretive dance – the first time I heard “Elastic Heart” was on television during one of my husband’s late night shows. Beautiful performance! There are postings revealing the meaning behind Sia’s song, but before I read any of them, I want to get my subjective interpretation down in efforts to dislodge the song from my mind.

Elastic Heart

“And another one bites the dust
Oh why can I not conquer love
And I might have thought that we were one
Wanted to fight this war without weapons…”

Relationships refuse to follow stable systems, and the one we recognize as our celestial match or soulmate fail to live up to the constructs inside our personal designs. The horror of mistaking someone as a contender for one’s heart is disarming.

“And I wanted it, I wanted it bad
But there were so many red flags
Now another one bites the dust
Yeah let’s be clear, I’ll trust no one…”

Consciously one sees the tragic flaw in the relationship, that the “one” is not who one thought him to be as he fails to match up to the image subjectively created in the mind. Warnings abound that he is not the “one” and one is left feeling nobody should be trusted…How to ever trust again? No, only fools follow.

“You did not break me
I’m still fighting for peace…”

One is not broken by the reality and must continue searching for the soulmate created my one’s imagination. The journey for contentment must continue.

“I’ve got thick skin and an elastic heart
But your blade it might be too sharp
I’m like a rubberband until you pull too hard
I may snap and I move fast
But you won’t see me fall apart
‘Cos I’ve got an elastic heart…”

The struggle for love is a life-long obsession, and one must develop impregnable resiliences in self-defense. A constitution strong enough to repel sharp words, insults, and feelings. A heart that is not fleshy and wet with emotion but resilient and able to snap back like nothing shook their soul. A plastic manufactured thing, created to withstand outside attacks and shortcomings. Advancement from the natural in which reality failed to live up to the ideals of a transhumanistic spirit.

“And I will stay up through the night
Let’s be clear, won’t close my eyes
And I know that I can survive
I’ll walk through fire to save my life…”

One might have been foolish enough in the past to rest safely next to their intended, but no longer will one place the value of life on another. One will do anything to continue life’s journey, no obstacle will conquer the will.

“And I want it, I want my life so bad
I’m doing everything I can
Then another one bites the dust
It’s hard to lose a chosen one…”

One refuses to settle, but every attempt made is thwarted. Love is gone. The ideal and the real did not match up. Deep pain to realize reality, one’s delusion shattered.

Leave a reply...Share your thoughts on my thought: