My Introduction to the History of Science

Today began my last session of courses before my projected Capstone in the Humanities. J The light is on at the end of the tunnel, but much like the Las Vegas desert, the distance is still intimidating. I have been altered by my graduate experience, and my goals have similarly shifted along the way. What really shocked me, however, was that science was the authority that turned on the lights – and this alone prompted me to take this course. After I completed HUMN 551, Evolution of Life and Intelligence, I was able to see the influence of biology at work on nearly every platform. Never a supporter of religion, I was, oddly enough, further shocked to accept the lessons of the Enlightenment in which humankind was understood as part of the animal kingdom, exposing nature as able to alter the physical – though dependent on long periods of time.

All that’s fine and well…but who am I? I graduated from Fairmont State University in 2010 with a Bachelor of Arts in History, minors in English and Philosophy. I guess I am sort of a trifecta – I must find truth, expression, and be able to disprove it all {haha}. The more I advance in studies the more I listen closer to philosophy, or rather, the more I see avenues of altruistic possibilities as per philosophic notion. The thought patterns of human capabilities fascinate me<>…and I think that in the future, a connection will be seen between philosophy and science, in that the intrinsic patterns of thought in the brain are evolving in efforts to further lesson the struggle of life. Science plays a big part in that, and genetics, so I need to learn the history of science to properly grasp modern science. {that’s the historian in me, I always need to go back to the beginning to understand the present} I chose Humanities over History because I want to include literature and thought as human experience along with who won what war; interdisciplinary studies mirrors how I interpret education to benefit the individual – a diverse arena offers multiple lessons.

{Originally created for HIST 586 graduate studies}

Picture c/o:  https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/3d/Table_of_Astronomy,_Cyclopaedia,_Volume_1,_p_164.jpg

 

Leave a reply...Share your thoughts on my thought:

