The Towne: Project Alice

Day One:

Reason deserted me! I’ve given Alice Campbell the cure so that she may remain in reality with me. Who knows how I will beg forgiveness, but I feel the decision should be followed to completion. Without the cure, Alice will succumb to the fate of my virus, lost to this dimension. I am ignorant to how long the process will take in a human being, but I’ve awaited this leap in genetics all my life. See, it’s not so much a virus as it’s more a genetic enhancer. The acceptable term is virus because that’s more comforting than anything that suggests genetic alteration; I’ll never understand politics. The intention of genetic enhancement is to adjust and add DNA to make the subject better overall. Specifically for this strain, Elysian, the goal is to send human subjects into the sixth dimension. The virus enhances the pineal gland as well as the intelligence level of the subject, and at a seemingly random moment the subject would blink out. Disappear.

The mice all disappeared. The primates, too. Vanished into thin air. Once up to chimps, I sent them with video cameras, tape recorders, cell phones, but nothing returned. I suggested in backward ways to the board that humans alone would be able to devise a way to communicate and return through genetic enhancement. I admit, it was pure theory. Wild, brass decision yet the board was all whispers. Contracts were drawn up out of nowhere, and I found myself settling in as a researcher for the local lab in the Towne.

Day Two:

Alice learned French today. Not a word but the whole language. I left her to read in the morning, and when I came home for lunch she didn’t realize she was speaking in French. Luckily, I speak French and easily adverted discovery.

Day Three:

Subject experiencing similar levels of heightened human abilities. Movements are faster, comprehension is immediate both in mechanical and linguistic challenges.  The cure should have aborted these actions. Instead, it seems her abilities are farther along than the other subjects.

Leave a reply...Share your thoughts on my thought:

