Book Review: “The Scorch Trials” by James Dashner

The Scorch Trials is the sequel to The Mazerunner in which a test group of children embark on a series of Variables in attempts to save the human race. An apocalyptic disease called the Flare has infected the world, and catastrophic events have damaged the planet. The scientific and seemingly omnipotent force known as WICKED creates and challenges the children to surpass intellectual standards to prove their immunity to the Flare. Maintaining sanity in an insane world involves following certain patterns in the brain. The children selected for observation are referred to as Candidates; WICKED hopes to follow the brain patterns of the Candidates as means to out think the Flare.

The sequel follows right along with the first book in the series. The subject matter and plot line are solid and interesting while the writing construction is easy enough for a teenager to understand. There is a good bit of dialogue and action to quickly move the story along; I quickly read to find out what in the world was going on to these poor children. Now that I’ve completed the second book, I am eagerly waiting Husband to wake up so we can purchase the third book. You guessed it, I didn’t find out very much of anything. but that’s what i get for reading a series… Authors purposefully design series books in this manner so that the story may be drug out, the readers wanting more, and future book sales are guaranteed to produce. I’m glad I started reading this series once the books were already published fully; I’ll never forget the years I waited to finally finish The Clan of the Cave Bear series. I feel so restless leaving characters hanging from quest completion or being dangled in front of unforeseen death.

I enjoyed the piece and hope to start the next books soon.

Dashner, James. The Scorch Trials. “The Mazerunner Series Book 2 of 4.” New York:  Delacorte Press, 2010.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Scorch Trials” by James Dashner

  1. Loved the review, I’ve followed and I’ll be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. Especially seeing as though you’ve reviewed many proper novels and stories. I’m working on a novel currently and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

    Like

Leave a reply...Share your thoughts on my thought:

